top of page

Eddie Bowles

Early Bluesman

eddie bowles 1 - copia.jpg
Cover Eddie Bowles - Best Of Eddie Bowles.jpg

Eddie Bowles


"Best Of Eddie Bowles"

Final Thursday Press 


Release date: 

March 4, 2022

Recorded between 1976 and 1982 

Eddie Bowles - guitar, vocals


01 Eddie Bowles's Blues 04:10
02 Everything I Do 02:51
03 Untitled 01:40
04 I Sat up All Night 04:43
05 Crawdad Song 02:36
06 St. Louis Blues (Instrumental)03:13
07 St. Louis Blues 03:05
08 You Stayed All Night0 3:42
09 I Get the Blues When It Rains 02:08
10 Sorry, Dear 01:51
11 Fishing Blues 03:21
12 Don't Fence Me In 01:29
13 I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now 02:16
14 Strolling Waltz 01:55
15 Make Me a Pallet on the Floor 02:30
16 Memories 02:38

eddie bowles 2.jpg
eddie bowles 1.png

All the songs on this album were recorded when Bowles was in his nineties. He learned to play guitar in New Orleans with Louis Armstrong, and did so throughout his life. The sixteen songs included in this recording are the only recordings of this bluesman, recorded in three different sessions between 1976 and 1982 compiled in this album that has been able to see the light thanks to the work of the University of Northern Iowa, the Cedar Falls Community Foundation's Saul and Joan Diamond Arts & History Fund, Humanities Iowa and the National Endowment for the Humanities. A unique opportunity to get to know the music of a bluesman who sang the blues while this music was being born right at the end of the nineteenth century and the dawn of the twentieth. A true adventure to the origins.


bottom of page