Cover Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 Vol

Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969, Vol. 1
Third Man Records - TMR-239


Cover Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 Vol

Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969, Vol. 2
Third Man Records - TMR-240

1 Dirty Mother for You – Roosevelt Sykes
2 So Glad You’re Mine – Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
3 Too Much Alcohol – J.B. Hutto & His Hawks
4 I Wonder Why – Jimmy “Fast Fingers” Dawkins
5 Help Me (A Tribute to Sonny Boy Williamson) – Junior Wells
6 I’ve Got a Mind to Give Up Living – B.B. King with Sonny Freeman and the Unusuals
7 John Henry – Mississippi Fred McDowell
8 Pinetop’s Boogie Woogie – Pinetop Perkins
9 Introduction – Big Bill Hill
10 Everybody Must Suffer/Stone Crazy – Luther Allison and the Blue Nebulae
11 Tu m’as promis l’amour (You Promised Me Love) – Clifton Chenier
12 Hard Luck – The Original Howlin’ Wolf and His Orchestra
13 So Many Roads, So Many Trains – Otis Rush


1 Long Distance Call – Muddy Waters
2 Movin’ and Groovin’ – Charlie Musselwhite
3 I Feel So Good (I Wanna Boogie) – Magic Sam
4 Jelly Jelly Blues – Shirley Griffith
5 Mojo Boogie – Big Mojo Elem
6 Call It Stormy Monday (But Tuesday Is Just as Bad) – T-Bone Walker
7 Announcements – Big Bill Hill
8 Ball and Chain – Big Mama Thornton and the Hound Doggers
9 Juanita – Big Joe Williams
10 Key to the Highway – Sam Lay
11 Mojo Hand – Lightnin’ Hopkins
12 Off the Wall – James Cotton Blues Band
13 Death Letter Blues – Son House

roosvelt sykes - big boy crudup - jb hutto - jimmy dawkins - junior Wells - bb King - fred McDowell - Luther Allison - Clifton chenier - howlin' Wolf - otis rush

muddy Waters - Charlie musselwhite - magic sam - Shirley Griffith - big mojo elem - t-bone Walker - big mama thornton - big joe Williams - sam lay - lightnin Hopkins - james cotton - son house

From August 1 to 3, 1969, the first edition of the Ann Arbor Blues Festival was held at Fuller Flatlands, University of Michigan, the first festival dedicated exclusively to the blues in the United States. The artists who shared the stage during those three days formed a historical alignment with the gathering of legends of the blues never repeated anymore. We are in front a recording from the audience which makes up a sound of low quality but perfectly audible and enjoyable. In these two albums with unpublished songs so far there is no doubt that it reflects a piece of the history of blues music.