top of page
corey harris 8.jpg
corey harris 8_edited.jpg

corey harris

world music kaleidoscope

"chicken man"


corey harris

bloos records 2024

release date : march 26, 2024


Cover Corey Harris - Chicken Man_edited.

Corey Harris - guitar,keyboards, vocals
Chris Whitley - guitar
Teresa Tj Jones - bass
Gordon Saxman Jones  - sax
Paul Dudley - drums
Cheick Diabate - ngoni

01 Chicken Man 03:11
02 Ain't Going Back No More 03:10
03 Money Hungry 02:56
04 Red Man 03:19
05 Jahtigui 03:50
06 Since You Gone 02:49
07 Jim Crow Joe 03:25
08 Fafo 03:39
09 Four Wings 03:28
10 City Boys 04:06
11 Blues Came To Texas 02:19
12 Great Change 02:17

corey harris 9.jpg

If a single word can define Corey Harris as an artist, it's eclecticism. A second could be visionary. Harris, born in 1969, has a degree in athropology and a blues musician, both of which have allowed him to thoroughly explore the close relationship between the music of the Delta and African and other world roots musical cultures. He lived in Cameroon and traveled through the Sahel in search of unexplored connections and interacted personally and musically with native artists. He has also explored Bolero and Calypso music from the Caribbean, Jamaica and Reggae. Acoustic guitarist with deep knowledge of Delta blues - Charlie Patton, Bukka White, Fred McDowell - Harris' evolution has also allowed him to put his mark on New Orleans funk and R&B, filter with a certain pop music and record with the Malian Ali Farka Touré or Guinean Toumani Diabate. One of the elements that credit Harris's notoriety is his unique voice, deep and always nuanced by each of the styles that he has evolved throughout his musical career. Since the mid-nineties, Harris, along with other artists such as Eric Bibb, Keb' Mo', Alvin Hart and Guy Davis, reactivated the acoustic blues of the Delta and have kept it alive to this day. Outstanding Taj Mahal disciples.




“music is about being creative, and being progressively creative, not stagnating”

bottom of page