Cover James Brown Live At Home With His




H O T  S O U L  R E V I S I T E D



James Brown - vocals
Fred Wesley - trombone
Eldee Williams, Maceo Parker, Robert Chopper McCollough - tenor sax
St-Clair Pinckney - bariton sax
Clayton Gunnells, Darryl Hassan Jamison, Joseph Davis, Richard Griffith - trumpet
Bobby Byrd - organ
Catfish Collins, Jimmy Nolen- guitar
'Sweet' Charles Sherrell, Bootsy Collins - bass
Clyde Stubblefield, John Jabo Starks, Melvin Parker - drums
Johnny Griggs - congas

James Brown
Live At Home With His Bad Self
Republic Records - 2019

Full Album

republic records 3.png


01 Say It Loud I'm Black and I'm Proud 5:05
02 James Brown Thanks and Introduction To World 2:18
03 World 3:27
04 Stage Dialogue 1:15
05 Lowdown Popcorn 6:50
06 Spinning Wheel 4:46
07 If I Ruled the World 4:01
08 Kansas City 4:01
09 Introduction To Startime 0:16
10 I Don't Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door I'll Get It Myself 4:08
11 I Got the Feelin' / Licking Stick-Licking Stick 2:24
12 Try Me 2:38
13 There Was a Time 7:04
14 Give It Up Or Turnit a Loose 4:50
15 It's a Man's Man's Man's World 3:41
16 Please, Please, Please 2:21
17 I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)1:23
18 Mother Popcorn 9:03
19 Tour Date Promo 0:21

On October 1, 1969, a celebration of the soul officiated by his greatest preacher James Brown was held at the Bell Auditorium in Augusta, Atlanta, and became one of the most glorious divine moments in the history of this unrepeatable music, a complete interaction between the musicians and the audience and with the preacher Brown in a state of absolute grace. The concert was recorded for later editing in a double live album called "Sex Machine" and which included  among others seven songs from that concert. Celebrating the 50th anniversary, the Augusta concert has been published in his entirety, remastered, enjoying a spectacular sound. I have no doubt that we are in front of one of the most seductive and empathetic live albums in the soul/funk music history.


  • Facebook